Night Music (2009)


  • 9-10
  • Violin and Piano

Score Excerpts

Sound Samples

  • Duo Diorama

Program Notes

Night Music was composed in Winnipeg between November 2006 and January 2007. The piece was extensively revised in the summer of 2009. The first performance was given in Winnipeg on January 27, 2007, at the Winnipeg Art Gallery. The performers were John Racaru, violin and Carole Pollard, piano.

The work is approximately nine minute in duration, in a single movement. It begins very softly, with a simple neighboring tone motive in harmonics in the violin, answered by a fleeting and somewhat widely-spaced low register gesture in the piano. These two musical ideas are the kernels from which much of the material in the piece is derived. The music leads to a large climax shortly beyond the halfway point in the piece, and ends with a quiet, lyrical section that is built on a simple three-note motive in the piano.

World Premiere:
January 27, 2007, Winnipeg
John Racaru, vn, Carole Pollard, pf